Training: Introduction to Water Conservation Program Planning

Date: Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Time: 11 a.m. PDT | Noon MDT | 1 p.m. CDT | 2 p.m. EDT
Cost: $75 (Alliance for Water Efficiency members) | $150 (non-members)
Register here.
Part 2 of the introductory course will be held September 17, 2020 at 1 p.m. CDT. Registration for Part 1 will automatically enroll you in Part 2 and you will be emailed a second webinar link.

This is the first class module in a series of courses on water efficiency and conservation.  This course, split into two webinar sessions, will be an overview of planning steps for a successful water conservation program that incorporates the basic steps from Amy Vickers’s widely referenced Handbook of Water Use and Conservation and other planning sources (The Handbook will be available for purchase for $45). The webinar presentation will include: 

  • common conservation and efficiency definitions and concepts and units of water measurement;
  • long-term conservation strategies compared to short-term drought response; 
  • impacts of conservation on future water demands and water and wastewater capital facility planning and costs; 
  • contrasts between water supply-side and demand-side economics, policies, and planning approaches; 
  • why and how to establish water saving goals for conservation plans; 
  • water use data analytics and how to evaluate common customer demand characteristics and per capita metrics; 
  • connections between water demands and water quality, population, environment, health, and climate;  and
  • features of successful conservation programs. 

Handout materials will also be distributed to participants. A live online discussion among Amy, Mary Ann and webinar participants will follow the presentations. Please join us for an information-packed learning experience, engaging discussions, and networking opportunities. 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.