2006 Inspiring Efficiency Award Winners announced

Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance announces award winners of its 2006 Inspiring Efficiency Awards. Read more about the winners.

Inspiring Efficiency LEADERSHIP Award—Diane Munns, Commissioner, Iowa Utilities Board for making energy efficiency a top priority during her Presidency of the National Association of Regulatory Commissioners and for her leadership role in the Midwest Natural Gas Initiative and as co-chair of EPA’s National Action Plan for Energy Efficiency.

Inspiring Efficiency LEADERSHIP Award—Robert L. Cowles, Wisconsin State Senator representing the second Senate district, for his 24 years of public service and dedication to energy efficiency culminating in the 2006 landmark legislation that solidifies Wisconsin’s investment in a balanced energy portfolio for the future.

Inspiring Efficiency EDUCATION Award— Missouri Botanical Garden, EarthWays Center and its Missouri Schools Going Solar education program for providing K-12 students with hands-on experience with photovoltaic (PV) technology and energy education that extends beyond the classroom to the community.

Inspiring Efficiency INNOVATION Award—District Energy St. Paul for their innovative combined heat and power (CHP), which turns wood waste into green energy for their downtown customer base including Minnesota’s State Capitol Complex.

Inspiring Efficiency INNOVATION Award
—Cleveland Green Building Coalition’s Emerging Green Designers Symposium for connecting young architects and design professionals with local home builders and developers.

Inspiring Efficiency IMPACT Award
—Alliant Energy-Wisconsin Power and Light Co. for their Shared Savings program, helping to finance and carry out energy efficient projects. Cumulative energy savings from the program have deferred the building of one 250 megawatt power plant.

Inspiring Efficiency MARKETING Award—MidAmerican Energy for the Mr. Green/Save some green® campaign, demystifying energy efficiency and providing Iowa consumers with low-cost and no- cost energy solutions for their homes.

Inspiring Efficiency CHAIRMAN Award—Mary O’Toole for her years of service as Chair of MEEA and her role in raising the dialog on energy efficiency to new levels, fostering collaboration among organizations with diverse interests, and supporting significant energy efficiency gains in the Midwest.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.