Awards & contests

American Alliance of Museums Sustainability Excellence Award (SEA)

The Alliance and PIC Green invite you to submit your museum as a model for environmental sustainability for the 2015 AAM Annual Meeting in Atlanta (April 26–29). The purpose of this recognition program is to educate, facilitate and encourage green practice and to acknowledge and celebrate leaders in environmental sustainability. The application deadline has been extended to April 3, 2015.

This year we hope to receive a larger number of entries by small institutions. We want to show that sustainable practice does not have to be LEED-certified to have lasting consequences for our planet.

SEA winners will be celebrated at the Annual Meeting, in Aviso and Museum magazine.

John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism

The John B. Oakes Award for Distinguished Environmental Journalism, which carries a $5,000 prize and plaque, is given annually for news reporting that makes an exceptional contribution to the public’s understanding of environmental issues. The award was founded in 1993 by Oakes’ family, friends and colleagues. It recognizes journalists whose work meets the highest standards of journalistic excellence, and it is presented in the fall at Columbia Journalism School.

SEJ Annual Awards for Reporting on the Environment

The SEJ awards honor the best environmental journalism in seven categories: two Kevin Carmody Investigative categories, two Beat categories, a Feature Story category, a Rachel Carson Book award, and a category for Outstanding Photojournalism. $500 is offered for first-place winners in each of the categories.

Applications due April 1.

EPEAT Accepting Applications for Purchaser Awards

Via the SEI Blog.

Does your organization use EPEAT to source environmentally preferable electronics? If so, consider applying for the first annual EPEAT Purchaser Awards, which recognize the efforts of those driving environmental improvements through environmentally preferable electronics purchasing. Applications are being accepted through April 6 for the 2015 EPEAT Purchaser Awards. All organizations that purchase EPEAT-registered products are eligible. Learn more and apply today at

EPA Announces 2015 Climate Leadership Award Winners

The Climate Leadership Award is a national awards program that recognizes and incentivizes exemplary corporate, organizational, and individual leadership in response to climate change. One individual, 14 organizations, and two partnerships were publicly recognized for their leadership in reducing greenhouse gas emissions on February 24 at the Climate Leadership Conference. In addition to greenhouse gas reductions, awarded efforts include water use reduction strategies and water resource protection.

Do you want your Big Idea for Building Energy Efficiency to Become a Reality?

The Building Technologies Office (BTO) invites you to send ideas, comments, and votes to, the new ORNL Buildings Crowdsourcing Community. Administered by Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), the website has been launched as part of the Energy Department’s efforts to reduce energy consumption in homes and buildings and enhance U.S. competitiveness in manufacturing.

Innovators including start-ups, designers, buildings scientists, students, and other big thinkers can use the website to share ideas that could develop into new energy efficient technologies for homes and buildings. Those interested in participating can register through the ORNL Buildings Crowdsourcing Community or they can vote on their favorite entries. The best ideas will be recognized during the Energy Department’s Building Technologies Office Industry Day hosted at ORNL headquarters in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, in September 2015.

The ORNL Buildings Crowdsourcing Community will accept submissions, comments, and votes until May 31, 2015 at 11:59 p.m. EST. After the May 31 deadline, an independent panel of experts will review the most popular submissions. Site members and users can still view the submissions, comments, and votes after the May 31 submission deadline.

Learn more about the ORNL Buildings Crowdsourcing Community by visiting the crowdsourcing webpage.

2015 Indiana Governor’s Awards for Environmental Excellence now accepting nominations

The State of Indiana is seeking nominations for the 2015 Governor’s Awards for Environmental Excellence. These awards recognize Indiana’s leaders who have implemented outstanding environmental strategies into their operations and decision-making processes.

The Governor’s Awards are open to all Indiana manufacturers and other organizations with projects that qualify under the categories of Pollution Prevention, Energy and Renewable Resources, or Environmental Stewardship.

Nominations must be received (not postmarked) by IDEM by 5 p.m. (EDT) on Friday, April 17, 2015.

For more information please visit